Industry Advisory Board

We work side by side with our industry partners to ensure that our Engineering students graduate with the skills and experience that New Zealand needs considering both present and future industry.

The Industry Advisory Board, divided into three clusters of specialists, is a key body that helps ensure that the School of Engineering understands the engineering education and research needs of New Zealand.

The Advisory Board provides ‘external’ advice to the Dean of Engineering regarding priorities and directions of current activities and future developments. Its members are professional engineers, engineering managers, and senior managers, with extensive experience from working in industry, academia, or government.

IAB Chair

  • Steve Raynor | Director of Research, Rcon Pacific

Civil & Environmental Engineering Sub-group

  • Steve Raynor | Director of Research, Rcon Pacific
  • Jivir Viyakesparan | Technical Principal Water Assets, WSP OPUS
  • Mike Lord | Business Partner, Consultant, Contractor
  • Mark Mole | Director, SRD Consultants
  • Blair Currie | Managing Director, BCD Group
  • Chong Heng Pang | Structural Engineer, Bloxam Burnett & Olliver
  • Judith Makinson | Transportation Engineering Manager, CKL Planning
  • Julian Reweti | Senior Advisor - Resilience and Recovery, Tauranga City Council
  • Aaron Fox | Associate Geotechnical Engineer, Tauranga Ground Engineering Leader, Aurecon
  • Greg Ryan | Director, Integrated Catchment Management, Waikato Regional Council
  • Chris Ballantyne | Principal and Director, Invise Limited

Mechanical, Chemical, Process & Materials Engineering Sub-group

  • Arnold Yeoman | Site Manager, Evonik Degussa
  • Gerard O'Connor | Managing Director, PDV Consultants Ltd
  • Bernard Fulton | Head of Assets & Engineering, Fonterra
  • Mike Williams | Tauranga Engineering Manager, MWD Design
  • Les Roa | Director, Longveld Engineering
  • Campbell Upperton | Construction Manager, PFS Engineering

Mechatronics, Electrical, Electronic & Software Engineering Sub-group

  • Keith Gallagher | Electronics Technical Leader, Gallagher Group
  • Sandra Glasse | Electrical Engineer, Carter Holt Harvey Wood Products
  • David Hallett | Co-founder, Company X
  • Dr Alistair Scarfe | Founder, Director & Chief Technology Officer, Robotics Plus Ltd
  • Richard Kingsford | Strategy, Leadership and Business Management, Edison Consulting Group